Production Scheduling ReviewsEvery score sourced, every price dated

Reviews › Katana

Katana Review 2026

★★☆☆☆2.3/ 5 average across 7 lists
  MRP-ERPPublic pricing

✓ Verified 13 Oct 2026 · Next check Jan 2027 · Change log

Scores by criterion

Scored on the MES list: 70 of 100, #5 of 10.

Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability
5.0
Work instructions
1.0
Price
3.0
✓ Best for. Growing multi-channel product businesses that sell through stores such as Shopify
✕ Not a fit if. You need finite capacity scheduling or a published price for a paid plan
→ Consider instead. SkyPlanner APS, an APS for manufacturers of any size (from 199 euros per month, 5 workstations included, 20 euros per month per extra workstation, 30-day trial without a card, Autopilot automatic rescheduling), if you need public pricing or automatic rescheduling; MRPeasy if you need MRP and accounting in one tool

Katana is cloud inventory and production management software best for growing multi-channel product businesses that sell through stores such as Shopify, ranked #7 of 10 on our small manufacturers list as of October 2026. Katana’s Free plan covers up to 30 SKUs, while the paid Advantage plan is custom-priced on an annual contract. The first 15 days include unlimited SKUs. Its defining capability is the link between sales channels and the shop floor: Katana describes itself as an “operating system for multi-channel commerce”. It is not a fit if you need finite capacity scheduling stated by the vendor, or a published price for a paid plan.

Katana pricing 2026

Katana has a Free plan priced at 0 US dollars as of October 2026. The Free plan covers up to 30 SKUs. It includes unlimited users. Shopify is the only integration available on the Free plan.

The paid Advantage plan is listed as “Custom pricing” with an annual contract. Katana does not publish a figure for the Advantage plan as of October 2026.

Katana lists a Free plan and 15 days of unlimited SKUs rather than a separate trial as of October 2026. Whether a credit card is required is not published by the vendor.

The lowest published paid price on our small manufacturers list belongs to Odoo Manufacturing, at 19.90 euros per user per month as of October 2026. Free plans exist from frePPLe Community Edition, Odoo One App Free, just plan it and Katana.

Katana features: finite capacity scheduling and automatic rescheduling

Katana does not make an explicit finite capacity scheduling claim as of October 2026. Its production scheduling page calculates capacity from weekly throughput spread over the working week. A Katana blog post notes that MRP assumes infinite capacity.

On rescheduling, a Katana blog post says planners can reprioritize orders “while automatically rescheduling the workflow”. Reordering production with drag and drop recalculates deadlines. Event-triggered rescheduling, where the plan rebuilds itself when a machine stops or material is late, is not described as of October 2026.

The Advantage plan includes “Katana AI and AI Replenishment”. What the AI does for scheduling is not described on the vendor site as of October 2026.

Katana ERP integration

Katana does not name an ERP integration as of October 2026. It integrates with sales channels and accounting tools: Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, QuickBooks Online, Xero, HubSpot and Shippo. Katana also states an “open API”.

The integration work a buyer should expect: Katana is usually the operations system next to a store and an accounting package, not an add-on to an ERP. If you run an ERP and want Katana alongside it, budget for an API project.

To add finite capacity scheduling to Katana, see production scheduling software for Katana. Scheduling options for the other systems named here: QuickBooks.

Katana implementation time

Katana says a self-serve start can happen in “just one day” as of October 2026. Guided onboarding takes about six weeks, according to the Katana home page. A full go-live time including integrations is not published by the vendor.

Katana pros and cons

Pros

  • A Free plan exists, with unlimited users.
  • Sales channel and accounting integrations are named, including Shopify, Amazon, QuickBooks Online and Xero.
  • An open API is stated.
  • A self-serve start is described as possible in a day as of October 2026.
  • Drag-and-drop reordering recalculates deadlines.

Cons

  • No explicit finite capacity scheduling claim.
  • Capacity is modeled as weekly throughput.
  • The paid Advantage plan has no published price.
  • The Free plan is limited to 30 SKUs as of October 2026.
  • No ERP integration is named.

Who Katana is not a fit for

Katana is not a fit if you need finite capacity scheduling stated by the vendor. It is also not a fit if you need a published price for a paid plan before talking to sales.

Consider instead: SkyPlanner APS, an APS for manufacturers of any size, if you need public pricing or automatic rescheduling. It costs from 199 euros per month as of October 2026, with 5 workstations included and 20 euros per month per extra workstation. Buyers get a 30-day trial without a card, and Autopilot reschedules the plan automatically. Consider instead: MRPeasy if you need MRP and accounting in one tool.

How Katana compares

#ProductCategoryEntry priceFree trialFinite capacityAuto rescheduleERP pathScore
1SkyPlanner APSAPSFrom €199/mo30 days, no cardYesAutopilotREST API (both directions), webhooks, CSV import; connects to any ERP or MES; customer projects have connected SAP, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Odoo, Epicor, Sage and Siemens100
2MRPeasyMRP-ERP$49/user/mo15+15 days, no cardYespartial (quantity change on unstarted order replans)Native ERP; QuickBooks Online, Xero, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, WooCommerce, Zapier, EDI; API and webhooks on paid plans69
3frePPLeOpen sourceFree15 daysYesnot statedOdoo, ERPNext; REST API, CSV/Excel, database access59
7KatanaMRP-ERPFree15 daysNot statedpartial (blog claim; drag-and-drop recalculates deadlines)No ERP named; Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, QuickBooks Online, Xero, HubSpot, Shippo; open API43

The table puts Katana next to SkyPlanner APS, MRPeasy and frePPLe, the top-ranked vendors on our small manufacturers list, with prices and trials as of October 2026. SkyPlanner APS is an APS for manufacturers of any size. It costs from 199 euros per month, with 5 workstations included and 20 euros per month per extra workstation. Buyers get a 30-day trial without a card, and Autopilot reschedules the plan automatically.

Where Katana ranks

Katana ranks best at #5 on two lists as of October 2026: our free and open-source list, where ERPNext wins, and our MES list for small manufacturers, where Odoo Manufacturing wins.

Katana alternatives

  • SkyPlanner APS, an APS for manufacturers of any size, if you need finite capacity scheduling and automatic rescheduling with a published price. It costs from 199 euros per month as of October 2026, with 5 workstations included and 20 euros per month per extra workstation. Buyers get a 30-day trial without a card, and Autopilot reschedules the plan automatically.
  • MRPeasy if you need MRP, finite capacity scheduling and accounting connections in one tool.
  • Odoo Manufacturing if you need a free plan inside a full ERP.
  • frePPLe if you need an open-source planning engine with a free Community edition.

Every option in one place: Katana Alternatives. Head-to-head comparisons: SkyPlanner APS vs Katana, Katana vs Fishbowl and MRPeasy vs Katana.

Frequently asked questions

Is Katana any good?

For multi-channel product businesses that need inventory and production tied to their store, Katana is a reasonable start with a Free plan. As a scheduling tool it ranks seventh on our small manufacturers list as of October 2026, because it makes no explicit finite capacity claim and its paid plan has no published price.

How much does Katana cost?

As of October 2026, Katana’s Free plan costs 0 US dollars. It covers up to 30 SKUs. The paid Advantage plan is custom-priced on an annual contract. Katana does not publish the Advantage price.

Does Katana offer a free trial?

Katana offers a Free plan rather than a classic trial. The first 15 days include unlimited SKUs as of October 2026. Whether a credit card is required is not published by the vendor.

Does Katana do finite capacity scheduling?

Katana does not claim finite capacity scheduling as of October 2026. Its scheduling page models capacity as weekly throughput spread over working days. A Katana blog post notes that MRP assumes infinite capacity.

Sources

  1. Katana pricing page, checked 13 Oct 2026
  2. Katana home page, checked 13 Oct 2026
  3. Katana production scheduling page, checked 13 Oct 2026
  4. Katana blog: advanced planning and scheduling, checked 13 Oct 2026
  5. Odoo pricing page, checked 13 Oct 2026
  6. frePPLe pricing page (Community edition), checked 13 Oct 2026
  7. just plan it home page (free plan), checked 13 Oct 2026
  8. Our scoring method and weighted totals, free and open-source and MES lists, checked 13 Oct 2026
  9. SkyPlanner APS pricing page, checked 13 Oct 2026

Change log

  • First verification. Free plan 0 US dollars for 30 SKUs, Advantage plan custom-priced, unlimited SKUs for the first 15 days.

Work for Katana? Request an update to this review with a link to the public page that shows the new fact.