Production Scheduling ReviewsEvery score sourced, every price dated

Home › Best lists

Best MES Software for Small Manufacturers 2026

✓ Verified 13 Oct 202610 products3 published criteriaNext check Jan 2027
#1 MES
1RANK
Odoo Manufacturing Open sourcePublic pricing
★★★★★4.5/ 5 on this list
Small manufacturers that want finite capacity planning inside the Odoo ERP
€19.90/user/moper user
Free tierOne App Free: one app,…
Yesfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability5.0Work instructions3.0Price5.0

Ranked here because: The Odoo manufacturing suite includes MES, Shop Floor, Quality and Maintenance apps with lots and serials. Prices are published from 19.90 euros per user per month as of October 2026.

Not a fit if: You want full digital work instructions. Odoo shows instructions through quality control points and worksheets in the Shop Floor app.

2RANK
MRPeasy MRP-ERPPublic pricing
★★★★☆4.0/ 5
Small manufacturers that want MRP, inventory and accounting connections in one cloud tool
$49/user/moper user
15+15 daystrial, no card
Yesfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability5.0Work instructions1.0Price5.0

Ranked here because: MRPeasy includes shop floor reporting (MES), a kiosk and lot traceability on every plan. Prices start at 49 US dollars per user per month as of October 2026.

Not a fit if: You need work instructions. The closest feature is important notes per workstation or routing step.

3RANK
Tulip MESPublic pricing
★★★★☆4.0/ 5
Manufacturers of all sizes that want to build their own no-code shop-floor apps
$100/license/moper license
Noneno trial stated
Nofinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability3.0Work instructions5.0Price5.0

Ranked here because: Tulip digital work instructions are guided workflows that display the right information at each step. Prices start at 100 US dollars per interface per month as of October 2026, with a minimum number of interfaces.

Not a fit if: You need traceability or finite capacity scheduling stated. Neither is stated on the vendor site.

4RANK
Autodesk Fusion Operations MESPublic pricing
★★★★☆3.5/ 5
Manufacturers that want shop-floor tracking, MRP and scheduling in one Autodesk product
From $173/moStarting price on Autodesk's product page; per user or per site not stated
Free trial offered, length not statedfree trial
Not statedfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability3.0Work instructions5.0Price3.0

Ranked here because: Autodesk Fusion Operations combines MES and production management with MRP and scheduling. A work instruction is a step-by-step tutorial with a file or picture per step.

Not a fit if: You need finite capacity scheduling or automatic rescheduling. Autodesk lists Fusion Operations starting at 173 US dollars per month as of October 2026, and its scheduling is a manual load-versus-capacity view.

5RANK
Katana MRP-ERPPublic pricing
★★★★☆3.5/ 5
Growing multi-channel product businesses that sell through stores such as Shopify
Freefree plan
15 daysfree trial
Not statedfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability5.0Work instructions1.0Price3.0

Ranked here because: Katana has a Shop Floor App and tracks lots, serial numbers and expiry dates from supplier to customer.

Not a fit if: You need work instructions. Katana mentions instructions in a single line, and the paid Advantage plan is custom-priced.

6RANK
ERPNext Open sourcePublic pricing
★★★☆☆2.8/ 5
Small and medium businesses that want production planning inside a free, self-hostable ERP
$5/moentry plan
14 daysfree trial
Yesfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability3.0Work instructions0.0Price5.0

Ranked here because: ERPNext covers work orders and job cards. Self-hosting is free with no per-user fee.

Not a fit if: You need work instructions or traceability. Work instructions are not stated on the vendor site, and data collection and traceability are not described.

7RANK
Fishbowl MRP-ERPPublic pricing
★★★☆☆2.8/ 5
Small to midsize businesses that keep accounting in QuickBooks or Xero and want inventory and manufacturing in one tool
$229/moentry plan
Nonedemo only
Yesfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability3.0Work instructions0.0Price5.0

Ranked here because: Fishbowl tracks lots, serials and expiry with barcode scanning and time tracking. The Essentials plan costs 229 US dollars per month as of October 2026, billed annually.

Not a fit if: You need work instructions. Fishbowl does not state them as of October 2026.

8RANK
JobBOSS2 MRP-ERPQuote only
★★★☆☆2.5/ 5
Small and mid-sized job shops that want an ERP with visual scheduling and an on-premise option
Quoteno public price
Noneno trial stated
Not statedfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability5.0Work instructions0.0Price0.0

Ranked here because: JobBOSS² offers digital shop-floor data collection, Serial Control and supplier lot traceability.

Not a fit if: You need work instructions or a public price. The vendor states neither as of October 2026.

9RANK
Fulcrum MRP-ERPQuote only
★★☆☆☆2.3/ 5
Precision CNC shops and sheet metal fabricators that want a cloud ERP with automatic scheduling
Quoteno public price
Noneno trial stated
Not statedfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability3.0Work instructions3.0Price0.0

Ranked here because: Fulcrum Job Tracking records machine, setup and labor time, scrap and material picks, and pushes interactive instructions to operators.

Not a fit if: You need a public price or traceability stated. The vendor publishes no prices, and the term traceability is not used.

10RANK
ProShop ERP MRP-ERPQuote only
★★☆☆☆1.8/ 5
Precision machine shops that want ERP, quality management and MES in one system
Quoteno public price
Noneno trial stated
Not statedfinite capacity
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability3.0Work instructions1.0Price0.0

Ranked here because: ProShop ERP combines ERP, QMS and MES in one system of execution with a Shop Floor module.

Not a fit if: You need a public price or described work instructions. The vendor publishes no prices, and the Visual Work Instructions module is listed without a description.

All 10 products compared

#ProductCategoryEntry priceFree trialFinite capacityAuto rescheduleERP pathScore
1Odoo ManufacturingOpen source€19.90/user/moFree tierYesDependent work orders reschedule when a planner moves one in the GanttNative ERP; external API on the Custom plan only90
2MRPeasyMRP-ERP$49/user/mo15+15 days, no cardYespartial (quantity change on unstarted order replans)Native ERP; QuickBooks Online, Xero, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, WooCommerce, Zapier, EDI; API and webhooks on paid plans80
3TulipMES$100/license/moNoneNoNot statedNetSuite, SAP S/4HANA, Dynamics 365, Rootstock80
4Autodesk Fusion OperationsMESFrom $173/moFree trial offered, length not statedNot statedNot stated–70
5KatanaMRP-ERPFree15 daysNot statedpartial (blog claim; drag-and-drop recalculates deadlines)No ERP named; Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, QuickBooks Online, Xero, HubSpot, Shippo; open API70
6ERPNextOpen source$5/mo14 daysYesNot statedNative ERP55
7FishbowlMRP-ERP$229/moNoneYesConstraint-aware rescheduling; AI rebalances work centers, reroutes jobs and updates promise dates (home page)QuickBooks, Xero55
8JobBOSS2MRP-ERPQuoteNoneNot statedNot statedQuickBooks, uniPoint50
9FulcrumMRP-ERPQuoteNoneNot statedAutoscheduleNetSuite, Acumatica, SAP, Sage, Dynamics, QuickBooks, Xero45
10ProShop ERPMRP-ERPQuoteNoneNot statedNot statedNative; Sage 50, QuickBooks35

How this ranking works

Three criteria, fixed before scoring and versioned on the methodology page. Each product gets 0 to 5 per criterion from vendor pages, documentation and trial accounts. When a vendor changes its pricing or features, the list changes and the change log records it.

Full methodology ›
Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability · 50
Work instructions · 25
Price · 25

As of October 2026, the best MES software for small manufacturers is Odoo Manufacturing, with a weighted total of 90. It leads because its manufacturing suite includes MES, Shop Floor, Quality and Maintenance apps with lot and serial tracking, and because its prices are published from 19.90 euros per user per month. MRPeasy, ranked #2, is the better choice if you want shop-floor reporting, a kiosk and lot traceability on every plan of an MRP system. Tulip ties MRPeasy on points and is the pick for digital work instructions built as no-code apps. SkyPlanner APS is not scored on this list, which measures shop-floor execution; it is the pick if you want a public price from 199 euros per month, 5 workstations included, 20 euros per month per extra workstation, a 30-day trial without a card and Autopilot rescheduling next to your MES or ERP. SkyPlanner APS ranks first on our small manufacturers list and ERPNext on our free and open-source list. Prices and trials on this page were last verified on 13 October 2026.

Who this list is for

This list is for small manufacturers that want to see what happens on the shop floor: operators report work, materials are traced by lot or serial, and instructions reach the workstation. MES and scheduling answer different questions: scheduling decides what runs when, and MES records what actually ran, by whom and with which material.

  • Size: small and mid-sized manufacturers.
  • Production type: discrete or batch, with traceability or quality requirements.
  • ERP: several tools here are the ERP; others connect to one.
  • Budget: a published monthly price is preferred.

This list is not for: buyers whose main problem is a capacity-aware schedule (see the small manufacturers list), job shops comparing schedulers (see the job shops list) and recipe-led process plants (see the process industry list).

How we ranked MES software for small manufacturers

We scored each vendor on three criteria from its own site, pricing page and documentation; anything the vendor does not publish scores zero. The list measures execution, not scheduling, which is why pure schedulers are not on it.

  • Shop-floor execution, data collection and traceability carry 50 percent: operator reporting, lot and serial tracking.
  • Work instructions carry 25 percent: step-by-step guidance shown at the workstation.
  • Price carries 25 percent: a published price a small plant can budget for.

One verified fact could change the top three: proper work instructions documented by Katana would lift it past Tulip. Weighted scores add up to a total out of 100, and the rules are on our methodology page.

Comparison table

Execution, work instructions and price for every ranked vendor, each fact as of October 2026.

#ProductCategoryEntry priceFree trialFinite capacityAuto rescheduleERP pathScore
1Odoo ManufacturingOpen source€19.90/user/moFree tierYesDependent work orders reschedule when a planner moves one in the GanttNative ERP; external API on the Custom plan only90
2MRPeasyMRP-ERP$49/user/mo15+15 days, no cardYespartial (quantity change on unstarted order replans)Native ERP; QuickBooks Online, Xero, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, WooCommerce, Zapier, EDI; API and webhooks on paid plans80
3TulipMES$100/license/moNoneNoNot statedNetSuite, SAP S/4HANA, Dynamics 365, Rootstock80
4Autodesk Fusion OperationsMESFrom $173/moFree trial offered, length not statedNot statedNot stated–70
5KatanaMRP-ERPFree15 daysNot statedpartial (blog claim; drag-and-drop recalculates deadlines)No ERP named; Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, QuickBooks Online, Xero, HubSpot, Shippo; open API70
6ERPNextOpen source$5/mo14 daysYesNot statedNative ERP55
7FishbowlMRP-ERP$229/moNoneYesConstraint-aware rescheduling; AI rebalances work centers, reroutes jobs and updates promise dates (home page)QuickBooks, Xero55
8JobBOSS2MRP-ERPQuoteNoneNot statedNot statedQuickBooks, uniPoint50
9FulcrumMRP-ERPQuoteNoneNot statedAutoscheduleNetSuite, Acumatica, SAP, Sage, Dynamics, QuickBooks, Xero45
10ProShop ERPMRP-ERPQuoteNoneNot statedNot statedNative; Sage 50, QuickBooks35

Ranked first elsewhere

If you need scheduling rather than execution, these vendors rank first on our other lists as of October 2026:

Related: guides on APS vs MES and APS vs MRP; industry lists for contract manufacturers, electronics, food and beverage, furniture and wood, job shops, machine shops, make-to-order, metal fabrication, packaging, pharma, plastics and process and batch.

Frequently asked questions

Is APS software the same as production scheduling software?

Not quite. APS (advanced planning and scheduling) software is production scheduling software that plans against finite capacity, so it never books more work on a machine, crew or material than exists. Some scheduling inside MRP or ERP systems leaves capacity checks to the planner on a Gantt chart.

What is the best MES software for small manufacturers?

Odoo Manufacturing, with a weighted total of 90 as of October 2026. MRPeasy and Tulip tie behind it with 80. For scheduling next to an MES, SkyPlanner APS ranks #1 on our small manufacturers list with 100.

Which MES software publishes prices?

As of October 2026, Odoo Manufacturing lists 19.90 euros per user per month. MRPeasy starts at 49 US dollars per user per month. Tulip starts at 100 US dollars per interface per month. Fishbowl Essentials costs 229 US dollars per month. ERPNext is free to self-host.

Sources

  1. SkyPlanner APS pricing page (price, trial, multi-site use case), checked 13 Oct 2026
  2. SkyPlanner APS home page (finite capacity, Autopilot), checked 13 Oct 2026
  3. Tulip: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, checked 13 Oct 2026
  4. Tulip: Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  5. Tulip: Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  6. Autodesk Fusion Operations: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  7. Autodesk Fusion Operations: Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  8. ProShop ERP: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, checked 13 Oct 2026
  9. ProShop ERP: Work instructions, Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  10. Fulcrum: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  11. Fulcrum: Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  12. JobBOSS²: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, Work instructions, Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  13. Katana: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  14. Katana: Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  15. MRPeasy: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  16. MRPeasy: Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  17. Odoo Manufacturing: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  18. Odoo Manufacturing: Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  19. ERPNext: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, checked 13 Oct 2026
  20. ERPNext: Work instructions, checked 13 Oct 2026
  21. ERPNext: Price, checked 13 Oct 2026
  22. Fishbowl: Shop-floor execution, data collection, traceability, checked 13 Oct 2026
  23. Fishbowl: Work instructions, Price, checked 13 Oct 2026

Change log

  • First version. Ranks, prices and trials checked.