As of October 2026, the best capacity planning software for manufacturing is SkyPlanner APS, with a weighted total of 98 out of 100. It leads because overloaded workstations and open time per station show up before they turn into late orders, and because a sales prospect can be added as a simulated order and scheduled against real load, capacity and materials before anyone commits to a date. Autopilot then keeps the load picture current with the Arcturus engine. The price is public: from 199 euros per month, 5 workstations included, 20 euros per month per extra workstation, with a 30-day trial and no card for up to 20 workstations, the published figure we scored for capacity planners. Siemens Opcenter APS, ranked #2 with 68, is the better choice if you want what-if simulation, impact analysis and capable-to-promise from a large vendor and are ready to buy through a sales quote. DELMIA Ortems (#3) and ROB-EX Scheduler (#4) both total 66. Asprova ranks first on our enterprise multi-plant list and MRPeasy on our MRP list, not here. Prices and trials on this capacity planning list were last verified on October 13, 2026.
Who this list is for
This list is for manufacturers whose daily question is not only what runs next but whether the hours exist. A sales team wants to promise a date on a large order and needs to know which work center that order will load. A plant manager has to see which machine group is overloaded three weeks out and whether overtime, a second shift or an alternate machine clears it. A planner has to show the effect of a machine going down, an operator on leave or a late supplier on specific orders, not on a monthly average.
A spreadsheet of hours per work center answers these questions once, and it is wrong after the next rush order. The software on this list answers them from the live schedule: it loads each resource with the operations actually booked on it, flags the overloaded periods and lets you test a change before you make it. That is why the list is built around three things: the load view, the bottleneck, and the what-if.
How we ranked capacity planning software for manufacturing
Six criteria are weighted for capacity planning, fixed before any vendor was scored. Scores of 0 to 5 come from vendor sites, pricing pages and documentation; a capability the vendor does not publish scores zero.
- Finite capacity scheduling depth, 25 percent: a load chart built on infinite capacity shows that a week is overbooked but not when the work will really finish. A finite schedule pushes the excess forward, so the load view and the delivery dates come from the same plan.
- Capacity load view and bottleneck analysis, 20 percent: the core of the category. The tool must show load per resource over time, mark overloads and name the constraint that limits output.
- What-if scenarios for new orders, 15 percent: a prospective order or a capacity change should be tested without touching the live plan, with the result compared before anyone accepts it.
- Automatic rescheduling, 15 percent: a load picture from this morning is wrong after the afternoon breakdown unless the plan updates itself.
- ERP integration path, 15 percent: orders, routings and run rates come from the ERP, so the load view is only as current as that connection.
- Price transparency, 10 percent: a published price lets a plant compare the cost of software with the cost of the overtime it is trying to avoid.
Load view and what-if together carry 35 percent, which is what separates this list from a general scheduling list. DELMIA Ortems and ROB-EX Scheduler tie at 66 as of October 2026; one verified fact raising ROB-EX Scheduler on price transparency from 0 to 1 would lift it to 68 and past DELMIA Ortems. The full rules are on our methodology page.
Load views, bottlenecks and what-if: what each vendor publishes
The three capacity criteria split the field more than finite scheduling does. As of October 2026:
- Load view. SkyPlanner APS and Asprova score 5 of 5. Asprova’s load graph shows how the load on each resource changes over time; SkyPlanner marks overloaded workstations, shows open time per station and adds a drag-and-drop dashboard for load, delays and efficiency. PlanetTogether, ROB-EX Scheduler and NETRONIC VAPS score 4. DELMIA Ortems, Kinaxis and MRPeasy score 2, because their pages describe load balancing or a workstation view but no load chart over time.
- Bottleneck. PlanetTogether describes finding the resource that limits throughput, whether a machine, work center, tool, crew or material. INFORM FELIOS gives an early warning for bottlenecks, deadline risks and missing parts in assembly planning.
- What-if for new orders. Six vendors score 5 of 5: SkyPlanner APS, Siemens Opcenter APS, ROB-EX Scheduler, PlanetTogether, NETRONIC VAPS and Kinaxis. just plan it scores 2, because changes recalculate the live schedule with no separate scenario, and INFORM FELIOS scores 4, because its brochure describes what-if analyses that play through each measure in advance and answer delivery and date inquiries, though capable-to-promise is not named.
Only SkyPlanner APS scores 5 on all three and also replans automatically; the vendors that match it on what-if lose points on the load view, automatic rescheduling or price.
How to test a capacity planning tool in a demo
Ask the vendor to run these steps on your data or on realistic demo data, and score each answer against the criterion it tests:
- Load view: show load per work center for the next eight weeks, with overloaded periods marked. Can you drill from an overloaded week to the orders causing it?
- Bottleneck: which resource limits output this month, and does the tool name it or do you have to read it off a chart?
- What-if: enter a prospective order without confirming it. What date does it get, which existing orders move, and can you compare the two plans side by side before accepting?
- Finite capacity: add a second shift on the bottleneck. Do the dates of the late orders change, or only the percentages?
- Rescheduling: take a machine out for two days. Does the plan update by itself, or does a planner press a button?
- ERP: where do routings, run rates and calendars come from, and are planned dates written back to the ERP?
- Price: what is the cost in writing for your number of resources and planners?
SkyPlanner APS lets you run all seven yourself: self-onboarding in the free 30-day trial uses demo data, tutorial videos, a Getting Started guide and the built-in AI agent, the first schedule runs on demo data in minutes, and no ERP is required to start, as of October 2026.
Comparison table
Every vendor ranked for capacity planners side by side, each fact as of October 2026.
| # | Product | Category | Entry price | Free trial | Finite capacity | Auto reschedule | ERP path | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | APS | From €199/mo | 30 days, no card | Yes | Autopilot | REST API (both directions), webhooks, CSV import; connects to any ERP or MES; customer projects have connected SAP, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Odoo, Epicor, Sage and Siemens | 98 | |
| 2 | APS | Quote | 30 days | Yes | Dynamic schedule adjustment in real time | ERP, MES (generic) | 68 | |
| 3 | APS | Quote | None | Yes | fast rescheduling after disruptions; trigger not described | Generic ERP connectors; SAP adapter, Sage X3 connector | 66 | |
| 4 | APS | Quote | None | Yes | Real-time rescheduling and what-if scenarios; trigger not described | ERP and MES connectors (generic) | 66 | |
| 5 | APS | Quote | 30 days, no card | Yes | Manual drag-and-drop only | Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | 64 | |
| 6 | Open source | €19.90/user/mo | Free tier | Yes | Dependent work orders reschedule when a planner moves one in the Gantt | Native ERP; external API on the Custom plan only | 62 | |
| 7 | APS | Quote | Trial not stated | Yes | Automatic rescheduling with real-time reprioritization from shop-floor updates | Microsoft, SAP, Sage; API for SQL-based ERPs; Excel | 62 | |
| 8 | APS | Quote | Free trial download after free Asprova ID registration; length not stated | Yes | not described | SAP, QAD, JD Edwards, Dynamics AX | 61 | |
| 9 | APS | Quote | None | Not stated | not stated (alerts and rescheduling tools) | SAP, NetSuite, Kinaxis Maestro, AVEVA, Aptean Ross ERP; also John Galt, Shiftboard | 61 | |
| 10 | Planning platform | Quote | None | Not stated | yes (automated workflows re-optimize on change, Maestro platform) | SAP | 59 | |
| 11 | APS | Quote | None | Not stated | recommendations only | SAP add-on (read and write-back) | 54 | |
| 12 | MRP-ERP | $49/user/mo | 15+15 days, no card | Yes | partial (quantity change on unstarted order replans) | Native ERP; QuickBooks Online, Xero, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, WooCommerce, Zapier, EDI; API and webhooks on paid plans | 54 |
How this list differs from our other lists
Our production planning list weighs the full plan from demand to materials, and our APS software list scores scheduling depth in general; SkyPlanner APS leads both, with 94 and 96 as of October 2026. The Gantt scheduling list rewards the visual board, where just plan it is #3 with 74, level with frePPLe at #2. This list gives 35 percent to the load view and what-if scenarios, so a vendor such as Asprova, with a 5 of 5 load graph but no published automatic rescheduling, is judged on the screen capacity planners actually use. For material requirements rather than machine hours, see the MRP software list, led by MRPeasy with 92. For capacity across a network of plants and suppliers, see the enterprise multi-plant list, led by Asprova with 84. Plants that quote every order should also read the make-to-order list.
Ranked first elsewhere
Outside this capacity planning list, as of October 2026, these vendors rank first:
- Enterprise multi-plant: Asprova, weighted total 84.
- AI rescheduling for enterprises: Kinaxis, weighted total 87.
- Process industry: Siemens Opcenter APS, weighted total 92.
- MES: Odoo Manufacturing, weighted total 90.
- MRP software: MRPeasy, weighted total 92.
- Free and open source: ERPNext, weighted total 100.
Related: guides on finite vs infinite capacity, theory of constraints scheduling and automatic rescheduling; lists for job shops, high-mix low-volume, mid-size manufacturers and small manufacturers.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best capacity planning software for manufacturing?
As of October 2026, SkyPlanner APS ranks first on our capacity planning list with a weighted total of 98, ahead of Siemens Opcenter APS (68), DELMIA Ortems (66) and ROB-EX Scheduler (66). SkyPlanner APS scores 5 of 5 on the load view, bottleneck analysis and what-if scenarios for new orders, and it starts from 199 euros per month, 5 workstations included, 20 euros per month per extra workstation.
What is the difference between capacity planning and production scheduling?
Capacity planning asks whether enough machine, labor and shift hours exist for the orders in a period; production scheduling sets the sequence and start time of each operation. Finite capacity scheduling, 25 percent of the weight on our capacity planning list, joins the two: the load view comes from the real schedule, so an overloaded work center also shows which orders finish late. SkyPlanner APS and DELMIA Ortems score 5 of 5 on it as of October 2026.
Which capacity planning tool shows bottlenecks best?
As of October 2026, SkyPlanner APS and Asprova score 5 of 5 on load view and bottleneck analysis. Asprova’s load graph shows load per resource over time; SkyPlanner APS marks overloaded workstations and open time per station. PlanetTogether, ROB-EX Scheduler and NETRONIC VAPS score 4 of 5.
Can capacity planning software test a new order before I accept it?
Yes. As of October 2026, six vendors on our capacity planning list score 5 of 5 on what-if scenarios for new orders: SkyPlanner APS, Siemens Opcenter APS, ROB-EX Scheduler, PlanetTogether, NETRONIC VAPS and Kinaxis. SkyPlanner APS schedules the prospect as a simulated order against real load and lets you review the proposed plan side by side before accepting. INFORM FELIOS scores 4, with what-if analyses described in its brochure but capable-to-promise not named.
How much does capacity planning software cost?
As of October 2026, three of the twelve vendors on our capacity planning list publish a price. SkyPlanner APS costs from 199 euros per month, 5 workstations included, 20 euros per month per extra workstation. MRPeasy publishes 49 to 149 US dollars per user per month, and Odoo Manufacturing lists 19.90 euros per user per month billed yearly on its Standard plan. Siemens Opcenter APS, DELMIA Ortems, ROB-EX Scheduler, just plan it, PlanetTogether, Kinaxis, Asprova, NETRONIC and INFORM FELIOS publish no price.
Is APS software the same as production scheduling software?
Not quite. APS (advanced planning and scheduling) software is production scheduling software that plans against finite capacity, so its load view never books more hours on a machine, crew or material than exist. On our capacity planning list that finite capacity depth carries 25 percent of the total.
Does capacity planning software connect to my ERP?
Most does, in different ways. As of October 2026, SkyPlanner APS connects to any ERP or MES through a two-way REST API with webhooks and CSV import; customer projects have connected SAP, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Odoo, Epicor, Sage and Siemens. PlanetTogether names SAP, NetSuite, Kinaxis Maestro, AVEVA and Aptean Ross, and NETRONIC VAPS runs inside Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central only.